FAQ about my subscription

Here are some questions people asked

Happy new year! I wish you all a great 2024!

I got a lot of WhatsApp and text messages over the holidays about my subscription services, so I put together this FAQ.

You can subscribe to my long-term portfolio ($1200 annual) and swing-trade picks ($1800 annual).

Free subscribers will continue to get a weekly email with market commentary and how our portfolio & picks did each week.

What will you get?

With both the long-term newsletter and swing-trade newsletter I will share the following: stock picks, webinars, weekly education videos and interesting job opportunities.

Stock Picks

1. Which stocks to buy?

a. My focus is only on Mid cap, Large and Mega Cap stocks (Market Cap > $2B). I do not recommend small cap stocks for either trading or long term buy & hold. I don’t have anything against small cap, but they tend to be more volatile.

Occasionally, I MIGHT send you an interesting small cap alert, but I will caveat it with small position sizes. Small cap stocks are volatile, and I don’t like taking too much risk.

b. I only target technology and retail sectors. I don’t have depth in other sectors. Oil & Gas or Biotech won’t be on my list.

c. My research is based on my experience in tech and consumer (retail) and 30 years of experience, not on purely technical analysis or fundamental analysis.

2. When to buy? – prices and key alerts

a. For long-term – I will share my entire watchlist (weekly) with you. I will also send alerts each week on the key stocks on our watchlist that hit good levels to buy.

b. For swing-trades – I will share entries daily (if good setups pose themselves) with you.

3. When to sell?

a. Plan to sell long-term hold at 25% higher than the 20-day EMA. I will let you know the levels if they hit those weekly.

b. Plan to sell a part (25% - 50% of position) the daily stock recommendations at 10% gain, and 25% at 12% gain, and 25% at 10% trailing stop loss. Levels will be mentioned, but I am going to let you sell based on the levels.

Webinar

Besides that, once a month I will host a webinar and question and answer session where I go through sectors, segments, and my view on the market.

Weekly Education Videos

Every week I will post one long form video to help you learn how to do this yourself if you want to. Some people have more time and want to learn it over time. Some of my subscribers are retired and want to focus on investing as a full-time career. What ever your curiosity, if I can help I will. Please subscribe below.

Job opportunities

Since I have a large network (I worked in the bay area for 15 years and was a venture investor at Microsoft), I get some founders of tech startups asking me to post their jobs which they are trying to hire for. I share that with my network once a month. Some are remote, most are in person.

And you can always message me on WhatsApp or text me (calls are hard, so I will schedule time).

Long term subscription

Swing trade subscription

How often will you get my update?

· Long term newsletter – weekly (usually Saturday or Sunday)

· Swing trades – before market opens (weekdays)

How many stocks will you recommend?

Long-term newsletter – 1 stock a week. I have made 38 recommendations last year. If you bought the stock at the recommendation date and not sold at all YTD, you would have made 103%. Last year was exceptional thanks to $NVDA $SYM $NET and $META.

Swing trade newsletter – 1-3 stocks a day. I made 141 recommendations last year. If the market is trending UP, I find better setups so you will get 3 good setups. If the market is trending DOWN, you will get 2-3 short setups. If the market is sideways, I will recommend only 1 or no setups and ask you to be in cash until we get confirmed uptrend or downtrend.

What has your performance been?

Between 1994 to 2001, my long-term investments were in Mutual funds and $CSCO stock (employee). I did ok (not great) because I rarely sold. I did see my portfolio go UP and up during 1999 dotcom boom and saw all the gains go away in 2000.

Which made me think and revaluate my investments.

From 2002 to 2020, my long-term portfolio was $CSCO $MSFT $AMZN $GOOGL $NFLX $HP $COST $CMG and $WMT & a few other small tech stocks – places where I worked – employee restricted shares that I was given, or retail stocks I knew and tracked.

My portfolio beat the market performance of NASDAQ 100 in 12 of the 19 years. What changed is that I sold and took profit, even with my long-term portfolio. Yes I paid taxes (capital gains), but avoided 20%-30% draw down, which killed my portfolio in 2000.

Recent performance: Long term (70% of my total portfolio)

Why do I sell from long term?

Even my long-term holds are for 12-18 months. If there are better opportunities I sell. E.g., I sold $ZM, $SE, $PTON etc. when they hit over 25% of the 20 EMA and then sold a lot of SPAC stocks when they were below the 50 EMA

Recent performance: Swing Trades (25% of my total portfolio)

Crypto has been about 5% of my portfolio since 2016.

Why do I measure against the NASDAQ 100 and not S&P 500?

My portfolio and picks are best suited for the technology index (which has outperformed the S&P during up markets and underperformed the S&P in down markets).

If you have any questions before you subscribe, you can always message me at +1 425 229 9109